Greg Bever named Trustee of the Year by Washington State Association of College Trustees (ACT)
Posted: 5/13/2015 3:44:27 PM

Community Colleges of Spokane Board of Trustee Greg Bever has been named 2015 Trustee of the Year by Washington State Association of College Trustees (ACT). He was chosen from the 150 trustees throughout the state’s 30 two-year college districts.

Bever will be recognized at the ACT Awards Dinner on Thursday in Spokane.

“Greg is a champion statewide for our first-generation students, our adult basic education learners and our veterans,” said CCS Chancellor Christine Johnson. “He advocates for opportunities for community college students to be able to elevate themselves and their families economically and socially.”

He is known for going the extra mile to be an advocate for students. Bever regularly brings student leaders to Olympia to teach them how to strategize and work with their state legislators. Because of his personal relationships with legislators, he is able to help students meet with lawmakers and discuss their specific issues in detail.

Bever was appointed to the CCS Board of Trustees in 2007 and served as the board president in 2010 and 2012. He is also the current chair of ACT where he has focused on affordability, access for the underprivileged, innovation and restructuring that resulted in efficiencies.

“Greg demonstrates on a daily basis exceptional dedication to our local board and, above all, the tens of thousands of students our district serves each year,” said CCS Board of Trustees Chair Mike Wilson. “His passion for ensuring access to higher education for students of all ages and backgrounds is contagious.”

Bever was the publisher of the Journal of Business from 1997 until his retirement in 2012. Prior to that, he was valley operations manager for The Spokesman-Review and taught business and marketing classes part time at Eastern Washington University, Cheney. Bever holds a bachelor’s degree from EWU and a master’s degree in organizational leadership from Gonzaga University. He received EWU’s Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2004.

Posted: 5/13/2015 3:44:27 PM by Global Administrator
Tags: ACT, CCS, PressRelease
Share this story
Share on Facebook Tweet us Email us